For the Narcissist Lover in You…

Imagination in my Hand

I’m a lucky dog.  I’ve never been “for real” published, but I am in the amazing position of being able to enjoy some of the really interesting fringe benefits of only the best of the best-sellers.  It’s a little surreal.  One example is that movies are being made of my stories.  No kidding!  Thanks to Kellen Gibbs and his crew, the movie version of “James Potter and the Curse of the Gatekeeper” is shaping up to be a full-on slice of indie film heaven!  Another example is shown below: MERCHANDISING.

Let me introduce you to a really cool guy.  His name’s Rick Van Velsor and he operates a mini wonderland called Big Bang Toys.  Among Rick’s myriad talents, he makes licensed figures for an amazing array of top shelf intellectual properties (take a quick glance at the website and you’ll find cool stuff for Spiderman, the Simpsons, South Park and others).  To my great delight, Rick took notice of my James Potter stories some time ago and created for me, totally gratis, perfect little figures of my own versions of Merlinus Ambrosius (seen in the images) and Benjamin Amadeus Franklyn (I’ll show Ben in a future post; he was at my work office when these pics were taken).  Since then, Rick and I have discussed several potential creative collaborations, only one of which is centered on my latest book, “Ruins of Camelot”.  This weekend, I was delighted to receive some samples of (gasp!) potential merchandise based on my works!  Take a look:

The medallion (or “sigil”, as it is known in the story) is based on descriptions in the book and some of my drawings/renderings.  It is actually two halves which fit together seamlessly.  This presented a challenge to Rick, but he was extremely gracious about it, and even said that he really enjoyed the act of working out the best method for making it work.  The result, as seen here, is a base that neatly frames both pieces.  The base has a cool burled edge and a rough-hewn back.

All I can say is that it was extremely cool to physically hold this piece in my hands.  I took it apart and put it back together at least three dozen times this weekend, marveling at the bizarre thrill of seeing something from my imagination brought to physical reality.  Thanks Rick!  We’ll talk this week about where to go next, but this is beyond my expectations.  It is exactly as envisioned, and I love the circular base.  For readers who will enjoy the new story, this will make an excellent memento, and even just a really cool emblem completely on its own.

So who’s interested?  Let me know, so we can decide how to proceed with this.  Would you like to get the sigil on its own, or as part of a book package, maybe with a signed copy?  What say you, dear readers?

Either way, and no matter what, HOW COOL IS THIS?  Woot.  Onward.

14 responses

  1. Ale

    Oooh that is soooo pretty!!! =D And you are made of awesome! ^-^

    July 19, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    • Ale

      Oh, and yes! I would love to get me one of those and a signed copy of yours!! =D

      July 19, 2010 at 4:50 pm

  2. Nightdemon

    Wow they look really cool I would love to have one of the Sigil in a signed copy.

    July 19, 2010 at 4:32 pm

  3. Kasey

    Very cool!! I would so buy that, especially as a book package deal. I would love to have a signed copy of one of your books

    July 19, 2010 at 4:37 pm

  4. Gorram Wolf

    These sound and look excellent! I would definitely buy them separately, or as part of a enhanced book package.

    July 19, 2010 at 4:51 pm

  5. Hester

    I think it is a cool marketing idea and should be included as part of a package deal with a signed book…..though I think a signed book might cause some logistical issues.

    July 19, 2010 at 5:26 pm

  6. I love the package deal idea, Geo! Way cool! I want a signed copy!!

    July 19, 2010 at 9:03 pm

  7. Divya

    I love the idea of a package deal as well!!

    July 19, 2010 at 9:11 pm

  8. Hester

    BTW….does that dragon look “toothless” or my eyes just failing….?

    July 20, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    • I expect it is very difficult to squeeze in such teensy details as teeth. This is about the size of a half dollar.

      July 20, 2010 at 8:27 pm

  9. Hester

    ahem…may I gently remind that you are speaking to a miniaturist…..

    July 20, 2010 at 9:29 pm

  10. Hester

    ….plus I am sure he took the design from a drawing….yes?

    July 20, 2010 at 11:11 pm

  11. Of course! How could I forget!! He actually took the design from the 3D renderings I made. How would YOU make such a thing, dare I ask?

    July 21, 2010 at 1:13 am

  12. Hester

    I do recall a discussion about dragon teeth, I think… Sending you an e-mail….

    July 21, 2010 at 12:56 pm

Leave a Reply

