For the Narcissist Lover in You…

The James Potter Ride Thus Far

JPHEC

JPHEC

Part of the reason I started this blog is so that those of you who are my readers, friends and supporters (many of you are all three) can be more closely connected to the happenings in the JP universe.  With that in mind, a quick primer for those who are just now tuning in.

When I was a kid, I was always depressed on the day after Christmas.  There had been so much build up, and then it was all suddenly over.  That was how I felt when the Harry Potter series ended.  It had been such a great journey, and then, for the first time in years, the ride was done.  There was no next book to look forward to.

So I started drabbling a new story of my own, picking up, more or less, where Deathly Hallows left off.  The result was “James Potter and the Hall of Elders’ Crossing”, my first fan fiction novel, written before I knew what fan fiction was.  At the encouragement of my wife and some friends, I released the story online.  The story became a worldwide phenomenon, garnering international media attention and hundreds of thousands of readers.  In the end, both J. K. Rowling and Warner Bros. had to deny that the story and its companion website were secret projects of their own.  I spoke to Ms. Rowling’s agency and was assured that they did not (despite media claims to the contrary) plan to sue me.  They were, in fact, very encouraging.

The success of JPHEC led, of course, to a sequel, “Curse of the Gatekeeper”, and then a third book, “Vault of Destinies”.  All told, these three books have been read by over a million people worldwide.  They have been voluntarily translated by readers into at least six other languages, with more in the works.  They have inspired an excellent fan film (with the sequel forthcoming!), and even spawned their own fan-fictions.  I have made friends all over the world because of these stories, and receive emails everyday from readers in all the corners of the earth.

It has been a phenomenal ride.  And it isn’t over.

Amazingly, despite the fact that I have not advertised or promoted the books in any meaningful way for months, the James Potter websites are experiencing a consistent upsurge in new readers.  The hits are coming from all over the Internet, rather than a few major links here and there, which tells me that, for the first time, the majority of the traffic coming to www.jamespotterseries.com is a result of sheer word-of-mouth promotion.  People are talking about the books all over the world.  The phenomenon has taken on a life of its own.

Here are the numbers for those of you who are really interested:

The main JP website is currently getting an average of about 600 new views a day, with spikes of over a thousand.  This average is trending up daily.

The James Potter stories have garnered over 400 ratings on goodreads.com, with an average 4 star rating for each book.

So, the bottom line is that this ride, as it were, is far from over.  It is, in fact, still gaining momentum.  If you’ve been following this blog since day one, then you know that I am still not sure what to do with all of this.  Writing fan fiction is NOT a particularly good way to launch one’s writing career.  On the other hand, if a writer merely wants readers (and the answer to that is a resounding YES) well then, what am I waiting for?

So.  I tell you all of this just to say, firmly and resolutely, THANK YOU to all of you who have encouraged me from the beginning, who inspired me to keep writing, and who still do so on a daily basis.  The success of this endeavor, strange and underground as it may be, is as much yours as it is mine.  I will occasionally keep you all updated as the JP ride continues on.

But I am very curious: what HAVE you all been doing to talk these books up?  I know some have you have translated the books and started your own websites featuring the translations.  Others of you have blogged about them, or simply told your friends.  Tell me, how IS it that this has become so huge?  I am extremely interested to hear the details.

For now, as always, onward and upward.

4 responses

  1. Dags

    Roumour has it, Potter fandom is filled with loudmouths. So I wouldn’t act so surprised if I were you… 😉

    A thought: if you already have people lined up who are ready to translate your works for free (and this is where I, somewhat belatedly, raise my hand to increase the number if you’re interested)… why not try traditional publishing in those countries you’ve got covered, as well? It would cut down the prospective publisher’s costs (providing the translations are good) and… well… the less competition on the market, the better your chances at being published traditionally are.

    Providing you’re not bothered by the decidedly smaller number of copies compared to the US market, that is…

    On the same note: where’s the link to translations from the official JP website?

    July 16, 2010 at 5:58 pm

  2. Ramiro

    Hi:
    First: Sorry my bad english, I speak spanish.
    I don’t know how is the case in your country (i’m in southamerica), but here the people (specially those who likes to read) uses the net to share even more that you can imagine. The prices of a new book are to much spensive, so people read (and watch movies, anime, comics, etc.) trough the web. Honestly, it’s cheaper and there is a feeling of brotherhood. So inthe case of your succes in the spanish comunity is that when one find something good, it share with his page of predilection. I have seen your book in houndres of pages, (examples: Taringa, elforro, vagos, etc; all free pages). And in many cases whit his own links.
    And more important, your books are good. Not excelent books i’m afraid (in my humble opinion not even JK Rowling has that level), but there are ok. I mean, you are not Theodore Sturgeon,Stephen King or JRR Tolkien (at least yet), but (again in my very very personal opinion) you ara at the level of Isaac Asimov or CS Lewis. So I really encourage you to keep writing.
    I just finished jpvd, very good and the best of lucks for your projects, i really hope that you keep with James Potter.

    P: I’m sorry if something i said bothers you, feel free to erase this comment. My family keep telling me that i have the sensibility of a hammer.

    July 4, 2011 at 5:39 am

  3. Fang and Talons

    “is a result of sheer word-of-mouth promotion. People are talking about the books all over the world. The phenomenon has taken on a life of its own.”
    Made me smile. For I am also one of those who spread the books as much as I could.
    -On my Harry Potter FB fanpage I am constantly posting links to your site of JP and ALSO RoC
    -Posting small hints and facts of JP every now nd then to arouse curiosity in my few but attentive followers
    -printing out your JP cover page [its amazing] adding details to it and posting it on bulletins all over the school for Potterheads to see
    -whenever someone asks “whatcha doing” i mostly reply “reading James Potter, have you heard about it….”

    😉 CHEERS 😀

    December 25, 2011 at 9:50 pm

  4. Harry Sordi

    I was told about your series by a friend, who shares my love of HP. After falling in love with JPHEC (and its sequels) I then made sure every one of my friends read them. This is all completely physical word of mouth, from myself to people I know would love these books.

    All of my friends said the same thing, after reading these books. The same thing i thought once i finished them:

    “I really hope that 1) This guy finishes the series because we NEED to know what happens, and 2) I hope he becomes successful. Either by word of mouth or by people purchasing his other works. We hope G Norman Lippert succeeds in becoming a famous and known author.”

    And we all had that opinion because we truly think you deserve it. Seldom do I find any book (fan fiction or not) that has me this engaged in its story and characters (not since JKR)

    I encourage you to finish this amazing series. Do take your time with JP and do an amazing job. What you have done, has already pretty much made myself and my friends buy your other books, which are also wonderful. And I’m sure everyone will follow suit and purchase your books either for sheer curiosity or because they want to “buy you a coffee”

    Thank you so much for giving the world a chance to be happy even after christmas eve.

    September 15, 2013 at 6:09 am

Leave a Reply

